Keeping it up…

Helloa all my fit and fabulous blog friends & followers,

I’m so back and ready for action ;-)…Yes I know I have only been recently back in the gym but I am super excited about every day ahead…

So what happened? The whole pregnancy, weight gain etc was a HUGE adjustment and to be honest for a while there I did not know how to cope with all the changes taking place inside/outside my body ;-)! For some reason I’m just gaining weight at the speed of light and I started to feel more and more self conscious about the fact that I have a definite baby bump at 12 weeks 3 days! My thyroid medication is consistent and its not as if I’m eating for 3😉

But yesterday when that little voice inside my  head said don’t go to the gym, you look fat/bloated and and and, I decided to silence the voice inside my head and to just DO IT!

And you know what it was the best decision I could have made…Yes I’m the fattest that I have ever been but that wont keep me from being fit and healthy! Have you been through something similar? If so please share with me.

I decided to take it one step at a time and just to enjoy every moment of it…I don’t have any pressure in the gym as I’m no longer working towards competing for now! It is still sad to see everyone getting ready/planning for the Body Beautiful South Africa – But hey next year is going to be a BIG YEAR :-)! Are you thinking about competing / are  you currently prepping for a competition?

I’m starting with the Shape 5 week 5km challenge – Imagine a few months back I was comfortably running a 10-15km run. Where my challenge was – being so fit struggling to get my heart rate up I’m now struggling to keep the heart rate down.hehehe amazing how things change and how we adjust!

This is what they say about it:

In a normal, uncomplicated pregnancy, your resting heart rate will elevate by 15 to 20 beats per minute. As is the case with all of the major organ systems, cardiovascular changes that take place during pregnancy are believed to be triggered by hormonal signals, primarily increases in progesterone and estrogen, which alert the body to the presence of a fetus. These changes begin in the first trimester.

Why Does Heart Rate Shoot Up?

Changes in your circulatory system gradually occur after you conceive. The change is to fulfil the requirements of extra blood in your body to nourish your baby. The blood during pregnancy circulates through placenta to ensure the supply of blood, oxygen and nutrients to the developing fetus in your body. The cardiac output of your heart increases by 30-40 percent and your blood pressure decline slightly as more of your blood is aimed at the uterus, kidneys and skin.

Exercise

It used to be that pregnant women were advised not to allow their heart rate to go above 140 beats per min during pregnancy. However, in 1994, the American College of Obstetrics and Gynaecology changed its recommendation because there was no evidence that a heart rate greater than 140 beats per min was harmful for the mother or baby. Instead, pregnant women should use their perceived rate of exertion to measure intensity, and aim to exercise at a level that allows them to carry on a conversation while exercising.

Read more: http://www.livestrong.com/article/187305-the-normal-pulse-rate-during-pregnancy/#ixzz20Dstjkvs

So that explains the fact that before I know my heart rate is 135-140 bmp while exercising! lol

Just thankful to have my Polar FT80 to monitor my heart rate while working out!

If you don’t have a heart rate monitor yet and you are serious about working out / gym / running I would definitely say it is worth every cent!

Great feautures like

  • Advanced training analyzing
  • Training Diary
  • Training Load
  • Training programs

To help you train safely and effectively, the training computer determines your heart rate target zone limits automatically according to your age-based maximum heart rate (220 minus age). The limits are determined either in beats per minute (bpm) or as a percentage (%) of your maximum heart rate.

Keep your heart healthy by living a healthy lifestyle and by following a good nutrition plan!

Well we will be visiting the doctor tomorrow to visit baby Kidson so I’m super ExCiTeD. Will keep you posted!

Have a super day and let me know what you are up 2 by commenting below the post…

Claudine

About lifestylechallenges

Brand & Marketing Manager | BA Graphic Design & Multimedia | Higher Diploma in Photography | USN Lifestyle Athlete | Busy studying Sports Nutrition & Supplementation | USN 12 Week Challenge Contestant | Passionate about healthy living and working out...

Posted on July 10, 2012, in Daily Post and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

