Journal day 48-50: 4-6 October 2011

Hi all my loyal blog followers, I’m so sorry for neglecting my blog the last two days but as mentioned in my previous posts I’m hectically busy with the Aardklop Art festival.

My hours are hectic and when I get back home after gym I’m really just to tired.

Gym is awesome and Phase 2 of my program is really on another level. The intensity is much higher.

How is your training going? This week we dont have any cardio (Zumba) classes at the gym and this is frustrating. I love my Zumba workout…Next week everything will be back to normal and I cannot wait! For those of you that asked me about the program when it comes to the cardio side I did incorporate cardio from the beginning of Phase 1. The reason so is because I have been training for a while so it’s not as if I started for the first time…It would have been better to skip cardio for the first 4 weeks like suggested by Jamie Eason to really make sure you gain lean muscle, but I only found this “wonder” gym program when I was 2 weeks in my USN challenge so I decided to carry on with the cardio. This training program really works we just have to stick to it. I am not in the cutting/toning phase so even though it may feel as if the results are slow, endure and don’t give up. Phase two that I am in now is focused on building muscle and I can’t wait for Phase 3.

The supersets is something to get used to but I like it, for I am not someone that can stand around for a full minute to rest although short recovery before the next set is crucial so make sure you rest in between!

It is so important to keep the balance between the cardio and the weight training and this is still a learning curve for me…They say medium intensity cardio facilitates fat burning, while minimizing the risk of losing any hard-earned muscle. So hopefully I’m doing it right.

I drink 100% Whey protein for my mid morning snack where I used to drink Diet Fuel.

100% Whey Protein Overview:

USN 100% WHEY PROTEIN is to be used immediately after training to prevent the damaging effects of cortisol (stress hormone) on the integrity of muscle tissue. The high quality Whey Isolate and Concentrate blend ensures rapid digestion and absorption of the vital Amino Acids to assist in post exercise muscle recovery.

Whey Protein is the highest BV (Biological Value) Protein available in nature. Research has shown that the highest rate of Nitrogen retention is achieved with Whey Protein.

USN’s 100% Whey Protein provides the highest quality Protein packed into one serving. It also contains Proteins such as lactalbumen and immunoglobulin’s, which are known to be vital for proper immune system function and are of special importance to body-builders and athletes.

Now with revolutionary Amino Rx technology, the proper uptake of the Whey Protein and its conversion into Amino Acids by the body is optimized.

BENEFITS

  • Muscle retention and spares lean muscle mass
  • Assists in weight management
  • Assists in immune support
  • Suitable for diabetics

Tuesday and Wednesday was my stimulant free days. Things are normally a bit tougher on those days for I easily feel tired and hungry. I definitely prefer the stimulant free days in the week and not over weekends though. Weekends are tougher in general for all so I just make sure I stay busy and in routine with all my supplements.

In the gym..

Tuesday 4 October 2011 – Chest and Abs
Gym: 5:36 am
Calories: 167  kcal
Calculated fat: 48%
Duration: 51 min
Average heart: 110  Maximum: 143
Fat burn improving

Tuesday 4 October 2011 – Abs
Gym: 16:15 pm
Calories: 219 kcal
Calculated fat: 46%
Duration: 1 hour and 7 min
Average heart: 109 Maximum heart rate: 149
Fat burn improving

Wednesday 5 October 2011 – Legs
Gym: 8:30 am
Calories: 320 kcal
Calculated fat: 43%
Duration: 1 hour and 32 min
Average heart: 111 Maximum heart rate: 160
Fat burn and fitness improving

Thursday 6 October 2011 – Arms/Abs
Gym: 5:17 am
Calories: 418 kcal
Calculated fat: 37%
Duration: 1 hour and 21 min
Average heart: 127 Maximum heart rate: 171
Fat burn improving

Thursday 6 October 2011 – Cardio/Abs
Gym: 16:00 pm
Calories: 472 kcal
Calculated fat: 25%
Duration: 1 hour and 4 min
Average heart: 149 Maximum heart rate: 173
Maximum performance and fitness improving

Sorry for posting all at ones hope you can figure it out. Again I would like to thank you all for following my blog, the messages and support. It is really amazing to have support even online😉 I do appreciate your feedback! Tomorrow is Friday can’t believe it.

Oh before I forget, are you going to the Look and Feel Good Expo?

I wanted to meet Gareth there from USN for he is the one person that I am actually communicating to from USN, but unfortunately he won’t be at the expo on Sunday. So is it worth going? Think I will be like a little zombie on Sunday after this hectic week but will see. I really do think this is an awesome expo!

About lifestylechallenges

Brand & Marketing Manager | BA Graphic Design & Multimedia | Higher Diploma in Photography | USN Lifestyle Athlete | Busy studying Sports Nutrition & Supplementation | USN 12 Week Challenge Contestant | Passionate about healthy living and working out...

Posted on October 6, 2011, in Daily Post and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

