Journal day 20:

This was a tough tough day…Have you felt like this during the challenge! Waking up feeling tired, irritated and just extremely fatigue?

This for me was the toughest day so far in the challenge. Got up “eventually” and almost forced myself all the way to the gym. It was Chest and Triceps day and man did I feel discouraged. It is a new program, don’t know all the movements and can’t even get my heart rate up to burn some calories…There were thousands of questions going through my head; Am I doing something wrong, must I lift heavier, is the program right? Then the answers; I cannot lift heavier, I do focus on the movements correctly, but still there I was in the gym feeling discouraged and irritated by doing this alone. As women we sometimes feel so intimidated by those freaking weights!😉

And to top everything off the gym instructor at Virgin Active said to me that the program I have (the one Gareth gave me) is not a cutting/toning program but a bulking/strength program. Now let me tell you that words were enough to almost make me explode😉.

People; there are so many people out there with so many opinions. Don’t always take it, do your research and back your statement with confidence. Us woman don’t have enough testosterone to build/bulk up like a man. I just wish they can snap into it, for it is trainers like them misinforming ladies in the gym. He even said the one rep must be 30 and not 12???

Again I quote:

…“The point of saying this is that unless you are on exogenous testosterone or other anabolic steroids, you will not become big and bulky from lifting weights. This is not to say that you will not gain any muscle, you will, but you will not gain muscle like a man. Instead, you will become toned and shapely”.

This means that instead doing endless reps with light weights, as the media often prescribes women to do, you need to lift some heavy weights and really challenge yourself! While performing high rep sets (15-20 reps) does have some benefit, it is not optimal to adding muscle mass. Here is a very vague overview of rep ranges:

  • 1-5 reps for strength
  • 6-12 reps for hypertrophy
  • 12+ reps for endurance

Go and read the article I posted on 26 August 2011 under Change your mind:
I believe every woman should read this…
https://lifestylechallenges.wordpress.com/2011/08/26/i-believe-every-women-should-read-this/

The day didn’t get much better. I was hungry, tired and had an extreme headache the WHOLE day. Some advice; get a partner or friend that can support you in your of days.  We will face challenging and tough days but we have to stay focussed and remind ourselves why we are doing this!

I contacted Gareth from USN and my diet must be adjusted. I was rather shocked to be honest because I feel that I am SO EXTREMELY strict on my diet with no cheating but hey not the case apparently.

This is the advice Gareth gave me on my diet:

Here are a few tips:

“Your progress is great. Your diet can be changed to increase the results from the exercise.

Don’t use Oats so Easy – it is loaded with corn sugars (unnecessary high GI carbs). (Did not know this)

You have to include a protein serving with your breakfast. Either 3 egg whites or 100% Whey Protein. (I have 1 scoop Pure Protein)

Don’t have chicken drumstick – the skin has a high saturated fat level. Rather opt for a skinless chicken fillet. (I never steamed it with the skin but it looks like skinless chicken drumsticks is out?)

Don’t eat a starch at lunch or dinner. Get your carbohydrates from green vegetables. (Never really had starch only twice I would say)

Start to cut out acidic food groups such as red meat and tomato’s later in your challenge.

I would stick to the recommended diets as laid out in the diet plan. There is little (if any) room for variances in these plans as they have been specifically developed according to a calorific spread, and any variances will diminish the end result.

If you find that you are tiring easily, increase your green vegetable intake by 30% with lunch and dinner to meet your energy needs. You can start to cut out the starch with lunch and dinner, and rather top-up the meal with extra veggies. You are getting carbs in from the vegetables, just in a better, highly nutritious source”.

So far I am impressed with the weight/fat loss so I think what I am doing is definitely working for me so I will just adjust here and there like all starch cut out, cooked original oats etc.

But tomorrow is a new day and hopefully I will feel better😉

Eating wise:

Wake up: 2 x Phedra Cut Ultra SF

Training: Morning
Gym: Chest and Triceps
Gym: 5:54 am
Calories: 107 kcal
Calculated fat: 55%
Duration: 54min
Average heart: 102 Maximum: 131
Fat burn improving
Breakfast Meal 1:
Half cup whole wheat Pronutro

After breakfast:
2 x CLA Green Tea Capsules

Mid-morning meal 2
1 Naartjie
1 Scoop Pure Protein

30 min before lunch:
2 Phedra Cut Ultra SF

Lunch meal 3: (all steamed)
Steamed skinless chicken fillet
Half cup boiled pasta (No more of this and it was my first time L)
Half cup stir fry veggies
Cucumber wheels

After lunch:
2x CLA Green Tea

16:00 – 2x Phedra cut ultra SF

16:30 – 1 Scoop Diet Fuel

Training: Afternoon

Gym: Kata box and Action Netball
Gym: 16:22 pm
Calories: 651 kcal
Calculated fat: 25%
Duration: 1 hour 45min
Average heart: 142 Maximum: 185
Maximal performance improving

Dinner:
100gram steamed fish
Steamed packet veggies with cauliflower, carrots, beans etc
Cucumber

About lifestylechallenges

Brand & Marketing Manager | BA Graphic Design & Multimedia | Higher Diploma in Photography | USN Lifestyle Athlete | Busy studying Sports Nutrition & Supplementation | USN 12 Week Challenge Contestant | Passionate about healthy living and working out...

Posted on September 7, 2011, in Daily Post. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

